What our customers say about us

Based on 119 reviews.
Cocopops4
Cocopops4
2021-06-20
Spot on Beautiful location, clean spacious, well equipped bungalows with a stunning view. Lovely quaint area, two pubs and a cafe within walking distance, close to nany of Dorset's attractions. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Made our holiday perfect
BILLYVILLAN
BILLYVILLAN
2021-05-04
Delightful Dorset (Chapter 2) This was our second stay at Golden Acre, having been here last September, so we knew what to expect, but this was even better than our first visit. We again stayed in one of the "Ammonite" lodges, (No. 18), which was in a slightly quieter area of the park than last time so better for our dog. The lodges are not large but more than sufficient for our needs. The lodge was clean, tidy and adequately furnished with a well equipped kitchen and a good sized bathroom. The wi-fi was still a bit intermittent but not really a problem. The biggest plus point for this accomodation is its location, once you have negotiated the rather narrow lane. You are just a few minutes from the all year dog friendly beach and the coastal path with its wonderful walks and scenery. You can walk over the cliff path to West Bay in about 1/2 hour, though it will probably take longer due to stopping to admire the views. The excellent dog friendly village pub is even closer. The staff were helpful and very friendly, though we could have gone the whole stay without any contact as the contactless check-in and check-out procedures were excellent in these strange times. We would absolutely recommend this accomodation for anyone looking for a peaceful stay in very pleasant surroundings, especially if you have dogs on board. We are already looking forward to our next visit in September!
Diana and John
Diana and John
2021-04-07
Winter let We stayed at Golden Acre for 6 months having sold our home and our house purchase falling through. The area is beautiful the people lovely and accomadation just the ticket. The team were just so helpful and welcoming, home from home in a stressful time. Thank you to everyone at Golden Acre Theresa and Simon who we had the most dealings with especially. Also the New Inn Val, Gordon and Ben, it felt like our local. Diana John and Chelsea.
Ibizagirl2014
Ibizagirl2014
2020-10-27
Wonderful We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Golden Acre Bungalows, we stayed in the Marine Suite, which is a 2 bedroom bungalow, just the two of us. The garden area is lovely with seats, trees and flowers, butterflies were always flying around and little birds as well, what refreshing change from London! This is a great choice any time of the year, I expect it is as lovely in the spring and summer, and very cosy in winter, the heating was very efficient when we needed to use it. The kitchen area is well stocked with pans, cutlery, glasses, everything we needed. The bed was really comfy, bathroom shower was great, and the surroundings were quiet at night. We parked right outside the bungalow. We really enjoyed walks along the Jurassic coast and the smell of the sea which I have missed greatly this year, having not been anywhere at all until now. I recommend this accommodation highly, Margaret and Theresa are extremely welcoming hosts, and very helpful. We will visit again. Thank you for a superb stay!
Alison C
Alison C
2020-10-19
Lovely short break Friday to Monday short break, everything we needed. Mum and daughter with 2 dogs, very well arranged accommodation. 2 ensuite bedrooms, very dog friendly and a garden area accessed from the side. Parking adjacent ( would have been even better if next door car parked within the lines!). Yes, the lane down is narrow, but only had one scary encounter that needed special manoeuvring...no worse than the other local country lanes. Great location for visiting the Dorset attractions, we loved Hive Beach with the restaurant, West Bay, the local farm shops, the accessible walk at the NT woodland and the beach with the adjacent car park (2 along from Hive Beach, to the left on the map). Plenty we didn't get around to, so looking forward to coming back x
BILLYVILLAN
BILLYVILLAN
2020-10-06
Delightful Dorset In all honesty this was not our first choice for a holiday this year, it was about fifth, but after many cancellations of holidays abroad we decided to get a UK break with the dog. We chose Golden Acre based on the on-line reviews and were not disappointed. The location is great, once you have negotiated the lane to get to it. The beach and the coastal path are about 5 minutes away and can be reached almost entirely without using the road. The local pub is about 2 minutes walk in the opposite direction. The site itself was very quiet, most of the noise being down to our rather vociferous labrador! The lodge was quite small but more than adequate for our needs. It had an enclosed garden which was great but to access it you had to put the dog on the lead and take him to the gate. It would have been better if there was a fenced access to the garden direct from the lodge, though I don't know how easy this would be to put into practice. The lodge had all we needed though apparently there were some alterations to what is normally provided due to the current situation, which is fully understandable. I have seen other reviews that comment on the poor positioning of the TV, which I agree with. Whilst I cannot see where else it could go, the problem could easily be resolved by putting it on a swivel bracket rather than the current fixed one. The wi-fi was at best patchy, though I suspect that this was due to the position of the lodge as it was OK as soon as we went outside - not a major problem though. It is difficult to leave any review these days without mentioning the deaded covid-19. Golden Acre had managed this extremely well. We didn't actually need to have any contact with anyone while we were there. The allocated lodge was advised on a notice at reception so no need to even get out of the car. The key to the lodge was in a coded key box outside and we were notified of the code by text prior to arrival. The limited contact we did have with the staff showed a high level of friendliness and efficiency. We stayed for 7 nights during the last week in September in one of the "Ammonite" lodges - No.2, which was fine, but if you have a nervous or vocal dog like ours it would probably be better to be further away from the reception and entrance where there is less going on outside. The site itself is well located to easily get to all of the attractions of the Jurassic Coast and Devon if you wish, but there is plenty to do and see on foot. Would we stay here again? We have already booked!!
Barry G
Barry G
2020-09-21
Great place We stayed in a one bed cottage for 7 nights. The place was very clean with sanitised bedding, but because of COVID we had to take towels which was not a problem. Everything we needed was there, including 2 heated towel rails and 2 heater which we didn’t need. We have 2 dogs which was great for them as the garden was fully enclosed. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. Lots of walks either over the hills or down to the beach. The road down is “interesting “ but it’s a lane. Would recommend and will return.
ClaireJones85
ClaireJones85
2020-09-18
A little piece of paradise Currently sat in the car while my husband is driving us home and feeling so sad that we had to leave! We stayed in Ammonite 3 a one bed self catering chalet/apartment. Spotlessly clean on arrival, plenty of soap, cleaning products and mini handgels to use. Very organised in terms of bedding etc although we did bring our own just incase. Despite the current circumstances and having to remove certain objects from the room, we still had everything we needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A short walk to the beach which was stunning and a very beautiful sunset. We did a mix of eating out and cooking at the apartment both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our dog Molly was made most welcome too, with treats and poo bags left in the room! She thoroughly enjoyed her trip too and is asleep in the car! We visited several local areas: west bay, Weymouth and further afield to Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door all absolutely gorgeous, dog friendly with plenty of things to do, walks and places to eat. Our last evening we spent at the local pub - The New Inn. Again wonderful service, friendly relaxed atmosphere, dog friendly and a fabulous beer garden! Thank you for having us at Golden Acre-we will be back!
Natural Selecti... F
Natural Selecti... F
2020-09-04
Our Stay at Golden Acre Jurassic Coastal Lodges Very friendly and welcoming. Well appointed, clean, comfortable and good value accommodation with all the essentials and accessible parking. Not far from the local beach which provides a nice walk. Various places close by that serve food.